Story: Alcohol

Dry electorates, 1894–1908

Under an 1893 act, electorates could vote themselves 'dry'. Existing liquor licences were cancelled and no new ones could be issued in that electorate. In the election the next year Clutha chose to become dry, and over the subsequent elections another 11 electorates followed suit. This map shows the spread of 'no-licence' electorates.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: NZHistory

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jock Phillips, 'Alcohol - Prohibition movement, 1880–1919', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 July 2024)

Story by Jock Phillips, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Apr 2016