Story: Horse and greyhound racing

New Zealand-bred Melbourne Cup winners (1st of 4)

This table shows the 42 New Zealand-bred horses that won the Melbourne Cup from its inception in 1861 to 2015. There were 43 wins in total, as one horse, Think Big, won twice. In 2015, New Zealand-bred horses placed first (Prince of Penzance) and third (Criterion).

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Sources: Max Lambert, November gold: New Zealand's quest for the Melbourne Cup. Auckland: Moa, 1986; NZHistory;

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mary Mountier, 'Horse and greyhound racing - Growth from the 1880s', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 17 June 2024)

Story by Mary Mountier, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Nov 2015