Story: Self-government and independence

Provincial boundaries

Initially, New Zealand was divided into six provinces: Auckland, Taranaki, Wellington, Nelson, Canterbury and Otago. A desire to have greater control of their own affairs led some regions within these provinces to call for their own province. This was allowed for under the 1852 constitution. This map shows when and where the new provinces were created.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

W. David McIntyre, 'Self-government and independence - New Zealand Constitution Act 1852', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 3 March 2021)

Story by W. David McIntyre, published 20 Jun 2012