Story: Ngā waewae tapu – Māori exploration

Waka landing places

This map shows the landing places of a number of waka (canoes) important to different iwi (tribes) throughout New Zealand. They are Kurahaupō, Tākitimu, Mataatua, Tainui, Te Arawa, Aotea, Tokomaru, Horouta, Uruaokapuarangi and Ārai-te-uru.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rāwiri Taonui, 'Ngā waewae tapu – Māori exploration - Coastal explorers', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 17 August 2022)

Story by Rāwiri Taonui, published 24 Sep 2007