Story: Ecoregions


New Zealand can be divided into nine broad ecoregions, according to several factors, including rainfall, temperature and topography. This map shows the six regions on the mainland. There are also three offshore ecoregions: the northern islands, the Chatham Islands and the subantarctic islands.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: NIWA – National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Matt McGlone, 'Ecoregions - Nine ecoregions', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 22 June 2024)

Story by Matt McGlone, published 24 Sep 2007