Story: Voting rights

Māori and general electorates, 1867–1993

Māori and general electorates, 1867–1993

Māori electorates were set up in 1867, when there were 72 general electorates. The number of electorates in relation to the Māori and the European population is shown here.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Sources: Alan McRobie, New Zealand electoral atlas. Wellington: GP Books, 1989; Electoral Commission (top); T. Papps, ‘Growth and distribution of population.’ In Population of New Zealand. Vol. 1. New York: United Nations, 1985, tables 8 and 17; Ian Pool, Te [no-lexicon]iwi[/no-lexicon] Maori: a New Zealand population, past, present & projected. Auckland: Auckland University Press, 1991, p. 58; Statistics New Zealand (bottom)

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Neill Atkinson, 'Voting rights - Miners and Māori', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 16 July 2024)

Story by Neill Atkinson, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 17 Feb 2015