Story: State-owned enterprises

Breaking up the Post Office

Breaking up the Post Office

In 1987 the century-old New Zealand Post Office was split into three new state-owned enterprises – New Zealand Post, Postbank (which took over the Post Office Savings Bank) and Telecom (which took over telephone and telegraph services). This cover from Katipo, the journal of the Post Office Union, shows that the union continued to represent the staff of all three businesses. Postbank was sold to the ANZ bank in 1989 and Telecom was sold to a consortium in 1990. New Zealand Post remained a state-owned enterprise in 2011.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: S-L 1016-COVER

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rob Laking, 'State-owned enterprises - State-owned enterprises’ performance', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 7 June 2023)

Story by Rob Laking, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Feb 2015