Story: Te ture – Māori and legislation

Ngā take whenua

Ngā take whenua

This manuscript, written by the Ngāti Porou leader Rāpata Wahawaha, lists 28 take whenua, or principles of land ownership. They include take tupuna papatipu (land inherited from forebears) and four different forms of take raupatu (land taken by conquest).

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, Elsdon Best Collection
Reference: MS-Papers 0072-39E

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rāwiri Taonui, 'Te ture – Māori and legislation - Laws affecting Māori land', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 13 April 2024)

Story by Rāwiri Taonui, published 20 Jun 2012