Story: State services and the Public Service Commission

State sector, state services and public service

State sector, state services and public service

This chart shows the relative size (based on their 2010 budgets) of the three categories into which central government agencies fall:

  • the public service (departments and ministries subject to the Public Service Act)
  • other state services (district health boards, school boards of trustees, the police and the defence force, among other agencies)
  • the state sector (state-owned enterprises, officers of Parliament and tertiary education institutions).

The first two categories – the public service and other state services – are collectively known as the state services. The ‘other state services’ category is the largest in terms of numbers of agencies, staff and budgets. Crown entities are split between the state sector and other state services categories.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: State Services Commission

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mark Prebble, 'State services and the Public Service Commission - Role of central agencies', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 17 June 2024)

Story by Mark Prebble, published 20 Jun 2012