Story: Ngā rōpū – Māori organisations

Grey's rūnanga system

Grey's rūnanga system

In 1861 a rūnanga (council) system was put into place by Governor George Grey. It was summarised by J. E. Gorst: 'The whole native territory was to be divided into about twenty Districts, each to be presided over by an English Commissioner. The District was subdivided into a half-a-dozen Hundreds, each of which should select two native magistrates, a warden, and five constables. These officers were to be paid by Government a magistrate, from £30 to £50 per annum; a warden, £30; and the constables, £10 each, with a suit of uniform every year. The two magistrates from each Hundred were to constitute the District Runanga, presided over by the Civil Commissioner.' (J. E. Gorst, The Maori king. Christchurch: Kiwi, 1999 (originally published 1864), p. 134.) In practice, there was a lot of variation in how this was implemented and the above model is based on a government report on the proposed structure for the Bay of Islands.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Lindsay Cox, Kotahitanga: the search for Maori political unity. Auckland: Oxford University Press, 1993

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Basil Keane, 'Ngā rōpū – Māori organisations - 19th-century Māori organisations', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 14 July 2024)

Story by Basil Keane, published 5 May 2011, updated 1 Jun 2017