Story: Te aitanga pepeke – the insect world

Life cycle of the hīhue

Life cycle of the hīhue

The four stages of the hīhua (kūmara or sphinx moth, Agrius convolvuli ) are: eggs (hua), caterpillar (anuhe), cocoon or pupa (tūpoupou), and finally moth (hīhue).

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Bradford Haami, 'Te aitanga pepeke – the insect world - Moths', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 14 July 2024)

Story by Bradford Haami, published 24 Sep 2007