Story: Northland region

Signing the Treaty of Waitangi

Signing the Treaty of Waitangi

The Treaty of Waitangi between Māori and the British Crown was first signed at Waitangi, in the Bay of Islands, on 6 February 1840. The landmark event is the reason that Northland is often referred to as the nation’s birthplace. This reconstruction of the treaty’s signing was painted around the time of its 1940 centennial.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: A-114-038
Watercolour by unidentified artist

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Northland region - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 27 June 2022)

Story by Claudia Orange, updated 1 May 2015