Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




The New Zealand Women Writers' Society was formed in 1932 and is affiliated with the Society of Women Writers and Journalists, London. The headquarters are in Wellington, with a branch in Auckland and two smaller active groups in Waikato and Hawke's Bay, making a total membership of 260. Membership is in two categories: full membership and associate membership, and is granted on submission of published work of a standard approved by the executive. A monthly bulletin contains news of publications by members, a guide to New Zealand and overseas markets, and general literary information. Since 1960 the production of this bulletin has been assisted by a grant from the State Literary Fund.

In 1959 the Bank of New Zealand sponsored the Katherine Mansfield Memorial Award, of the value of 100 guineas, to be awarded biennially for work published by a New Zealander. The Women Writers' Society has organised the award which since 1963 has been restricted to writers of short stories. Winners have been Maurice Duggan and Elsie Locke, with a special prize to a young Maori writer, Arapera Blanc (1959); C. K. Stead (1961); Maurice Shadbolt (1963); and F. Sargeson (1965).

by Olive Rita Croker, M.A., Botanist, Wellington.