Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




The league was formed under the auspices of Lady Alice Fergusson in 1926 to provide for all mothers, regardless of religious persuasion, an undenominational fellowship similar to the Mothers' Union. It aims to uphold the sanctity of marriage and to help parents to realise their responsibilities in bringing up their children. At present there are 121 branches throughout the country, comprising 11,000 members. The branches are organised into eight districts: Auckland, South Auckland, Taranaki, Wellington, Hutt Valley, Canterbury, Otago, and Southland. The Dominion headquarters of the league rotates between districts, each term lasting three years. The league is affiliated to the International Union of Family Organisations in Paris, which in its turn is affiliated to the United Nations.

by Pamela Somers Cocks, M.A., DIP.N.Z.L.S., Archivist, Wellington.