Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Overseas Competition

Overseas tours have so far been made by a men's team to Australia in 1953, by a women's team to Australia in 1954, and by a men's team to Australia in 1959. Overseas players and teams paid visits in 1952 (Hashim Khan, of Pakistan), 1953 (an Australian women's team), 1954 (Janet Morgan and Sheila Speight, of Great Britain), 1957 (Hashim and Rosan Khan), 1958 (an Australian men's team), 1959 (a U.K. men's team), and 1965 (a U.K. women's team).

Since 1960 the following tours have taken place: Australian Women's Team toured New Zealand (1960); the Australian “Walleroos” toured New Zealand (1961); New Zealand Women's Team visited the Australian inter-State series and National Championships at Perth (1962); and, in 1963, an Australian Junior Women's Team toured New Zealand. In the same year New Zealand Men's and Women's Teams visited Melbourne for the Australian inter-State series and Australian Championships.

Test Matches (Since 1960)
Year Against Held in New Zealand
1960 Australian Women New Zealand Lost
1961 Australian “Walleroos” New Zealand Won
1963 Australian Junior Women New Zealand Lost
1963 Australian Women Australia Lost
1964 Australian Men New Zealand Lost
1965 British Women New Zealand Lost

by Roy Owen Haddon, Hon. Secretary, New Zealand Squash Rackets Association, Palmerston North.