Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



New Zealand Competitions

The first interprovincial tournament was held at Wellington in 1939. The trophies competed for are: the John Lennon Trophy (for men's club teams); the Beatty Cup (for men's interprovincial teams); the Dustin Cup (for women's club teams); and the Bensell Cup (for women's interprovincial teams). In addition, there are annual North versus South matches (Headifen Memorial Trophy since 1962) and a similar contest for women's teams. Results have been: