Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



International Competitions

Since 1927 New Zealand teams have participated in overseas competitions. As these are postal matches it is comparatively easy for local teams to compete. In 1931 a Wellington team was placed fourth in the London B.S.A. teams' match and in the following year this team came second. R. H. Nicholl, of Wellington Harbour Board club, won the international Presidents Match in 1931. In 1937 New Zealand took fourth place in the Dewar Trophy tournament. Canterbury won the B.S.A. Cup match in 1938 and again in 1960. During the 1950–51 seasons Wellington and Christchurch teams were successful in Empire postal matches. In addition to these, the Slazenger Shield is competed for between Australian and New Zealand teams.

Next Part: Pistol Shooting