Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




The Physiotherapy Act of 1949 is concerned with the training and registration of physiotherapists. A Physiotherapy Board is responsible for the control of the training, examining, registration, and discipline of physiotherapists. The New Zealand School of Physiotherapy at Dunedin is governed by the Otago Hospital Board. The physiotherapy course extends over three years, eight months of the final year being spent at a subsidiary school in the physiotherapy department of main hospitals in other centres. University Entrance Certificate is the required entry standard and the annual intake is over 60. There is a shortage of experienced teachers.

Post-graduate Courses

A two-year course conducted at the New Zealand School was introduced recently and leads to award of the Teacher of Physiotherapy Certificate. Entry requirements are physiotherapy qualification followed by at least two years' field experience. Courses of three months' duration are conducted a few times annually at the Physiotherapy Department, Public Hospital, Christchurch, in physiotherapy practice through influence of the neuromuscular system. The courses are open to all physiotherapists but limited to four at a time.