Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




The registration of pharmaceutical chemists was first introduced by the Pharmacy Act 1880. This was followed by a succession of Acts until the present Pharmacy Act of 1939. Control of the training, examination, registration, and discipline of pharmacists is exercised by the Pharmacy Board, which consists of registered pharmacists who are proprietors, two pharmacists representing other members of the Pharmaceutical Society, and a barrister appointed by the Minister of Health. A Board of Examiners is appointed by the Pharmacy Board, and comprises six persons. Of these, one is nominated by the Minister of Education, two are nominated by the approved schools, and three by the Pharmacy Board. The training of a pharmacist includes two years at the New Zealand School of Pharmacy, followed by two years' apprenticeship to a master pharmacist.

The Pharmacy Board also appoints a Disciplinary Committee the chairman of which is the barrister member of the Board. Acting on the recommendations of this committee, the Board has certain disciplinary powers. All pharmacies must be under the control of a registered pharmaceutical chemist, and under the provisions of the Pharmacy Act, the Dangerous Drugs Act 1927, and the Poisons Act 1960, the retail sale of a large number of drugs and poisons is restricted to pharmacists.

The Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand concerns itself with the ethics, status, education, and training of pharmacists, and protects the interests of the profession and of the public.

Provision has recently been made at the University of Otago for a degree of Bachelor of Pharmacy (B. Pharm.). In the case of the holder of this degree, the apprenticeship is of one year's duration.