Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




The union is managed by an executive council of 13, each representing a district into which the North and South Islands are divided. Each district elects its own council member. There are at present 12 district associations, and each works with its executive member and helps in the running of district affairs. The chairman of the union, or business head, is appointed by the executive; while the president, or social head, is elected at the annual meeting of the union and is nominated by the executive council. A patroness is also elected at the annual meeting. A central committee is appointed each year and consists of the chairman and three members of the council. The committee does such work as the council directs and deals with urgent matters. A selection committee is appointed when needed.