Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




Year Champion Club Venue
1893 J. A. Somerville Otago Otago
1894 H. Macneil Otago Christchurch
1895 G. Gosset Christchurch Hutt
1896 M. S. Todd Otago Otago
1897 D. Pryde Hutt Auckland
1898 W. Pryde Hutt Christchurch
1899 A. D. S. Duncan Wellington Wellington
1900 A. D. S. Duncan Wellington Otago
1901 A. D. S. Duncan Wellington Auckland
1902 S. H. Gollan Napier Christchurch
1903 Kurepo Tareha Napier Napier
1904 A. H. Fisher Otago Otago
1905 A. D. S. Duncan Wellington Auckland
1906 S. H. Gollan Napier Christchurch
1907 A. D. S. Duncan Wellington Napier
1908 H. C. Smith Otago Otago
1909 A. D. S. Duncan Wellington Auckland
1910 H. B. Lusk Christchurch Christchurch
1911 A. D. S. Duncan Wellington Wanganui
1912 B. B. Wood Christchurch Wellington
1913 B. B. Wood Christchurch Otago
1914 A. D. S. Duncan Wellington Auckland
1915–18 Not played during war
1919 H. E. Crosse Napier Napier
1920 Sloan Morpeth Hamilton Hamilton
1921 A. G. Sime Greymouth Christchurch
1922 A. D. S. Duncan Wellington Manawatu
1923 J. Goss, Jnr. Wanganui Wanganui
1924 L. Quin Eltham Auckland
1925 T. H. Horton Masterton Christchurch
1926 A. D. S. Duncan Wellington Miramar
1927 Sloan Morpeth Maungakiekie Hamilton
1928 T. H. Horton Masterton Otago
1929 Sloan Morpeth Maungakiekie Wanganui
1930 H. A. Black Miramar Manawatu
1931 Rana Wagg Hutt Christchurch
1932 Rana Wagg Hutt Wellington
1933 B. V. Wright Otago Titirangi
1934 B. M. Silk Wanganui Wanganui
1935 J. P. Hornabrook Masterton Christchurch
1936 J. P. Hornabrook Manawatu New Plymouth
1937 B. M. Silk Wanganui Hamilton
1938 P. G. F. Smith Akarana Otago
1939 J. P. Hornabrook Masterton Miramar
1940–45 Not played during war
1946 W. G. Horne Wellington Manawatu
1947 B. M. Silk Wanganui New Plymouth
1948 A. Gibbs Otago Otago
1949 J. Holden New Plymouth Hastings
1950 D. L. Woon Waitikiri Christchurch
1951 D. L. Woon Waitikiri Titirangi
1952 H. Berwick St. Michael's (N.S.W.) Wanganui
1953 D. L. Woon Hamilton Otago
1954 D. L. Woon Hamilton Wellington
1955 S. G. Jones Hastings Auckland
1956 P. A. Toogood Kingston Beach (Tasmania) Christchurch
1957 E. J. MacDougall Pukekohe Manawatu
1958 W. J. Godfrey Titirangi Hamilton
1959 S. G. Jones Hastings Paraparaumu Beach
1960 R. R. Newdick North Shore Invercargill
1961 S. G. Jones Hastings New Plymouth
1962 S. G. Jones Hastings Titirangi
1963 R. D. Durry Paraparaumu Wanganui
1964 S. G. Jones Hastings Hamilton