Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Winners of Five (or More) New Zealand Championships

Awarded the Gold Five Star of the Association
F. Livingstone (Onehunga): singles, 1936, 1952; pairs, 1949, 1962; fours, 1940, 1948.
T. T. Skoglund (Otahuhu and Carlton): fours, 1949, 1951, 1954, 1958; pairs, 1960.
Entitled to the Same Award
The late M. J. Squire (Hawera and West End): singles, 1944; pairs, 1933, 1941; fours, 1952, 1961.
The late M. Walker (Ponsonby and Auckland): singles, 1915, 1919, 1923; pairs, 1927; fours, 1932.
Empire Games
1930 (Hamilton, Canada):
Pairs New Zealand second.
Fours New Zealand second equal.
1934 (London):
New Zealand unplaced.
1938 (Sydney):
Singles New Zealand second.
Pairs New Zealand first.
Fours New Zealand first.
1950 (Auckland):
Singles New Zealand first.
Pairs New Zealand first.
1954 (Vancouver):
Singles New Zealand second.
1958 (Cardiff):
Pairs New Zealand first.
1962 (Perth):
Pairs New Zealand first.

New Zealand has won the Pairs Gold Medal four times in the last five series of games.

by Robert Sproull Menzies Sinclair, B.A., M.COM., DIP.SOC.SCI., Secretary-Treasurer, New Zealand Bowling Association, Dunedin.