Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Dominion Association

In 1911 negotiations were begun to amalgamate the Auckland Provincial Association, the Northern Bowling Association, and the original New Zealand Bowling Association into one national organisation. After prolonged negotiations, the “Dominion of New Zealand Bowling Association” was successfully launched in Dunedin on 10 September 1913, when the first council met and the constitution was adopted. The association comprised 17 centres, eight in the North Island and nine in the South, embracing 198 clubs and 10,912 members.