Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




The Urewera Country originally included all lands east of the Rangitaiki River and west of a line along the lower Waimana River and the upper reaches of the Waioeka River. Its southern boundary was marked by Maungataniwha Mountain, the Waiau River, and Lake Waikaremoana. Apart from the Ahikereru Valley, and some land around Ruatahuna and Maungapohatu, the country is mountainous and broken with peaks rising from 2,000 to 5,000 ft. Three mountain ranges – Ikawhenua, Huiarau, and Maungapohatu – rise within its borders and most of the country is covered with dense native forest.


Bernard John Foster, M.A., Research Officer, Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington.

Next Part: Maori Occupation