Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Diocese of Auckland (from 1870)

As successor to Bishop Pompallier, Rome nominated Thomas William Croke, who arrived in Auckland in 1870. He at once set about reorganising the work of the Church and accomplished much in four years. He was transferred to the see of Cashel, Ireland, in 1875 and died there in 1902. Auckland was without a bishop until 1879 when Archbishop Steins, S.J., a former Archbishop of Bombay, was appointed. He died in Sydney in 1881 and was succeeded by John Edmund Luck, an English Benedictine. During his 13 years in Auckland Bishop Luck revived the Maori Mission, confiding it to the care of the Missionary Society of St. Joseph of Mill Hill, London. When Bishop Luck died, in 1896, the next bishop was George Michael Lenihan, a priest of the diocese of Auckland, who ruled it until 1910, being then succeeded by Henry William Cleary who died in 1929. Bishop Cleary's successor is the present Bishop, Archbishop James Michael Liston, who from being Rector of the National Seminary at Mosgiel was appointed coadjutor to Bishop Cleary in 1920. Bishop Liston succeeded to the see in 1929, and in 1954, on the occasion of his golden jubilee in the priesthood, was appointed to the personal title and dignity of Archbishop, and three years later was given an auxiliary in the person of Reginald Delargey, a priest of the diocese of Auckland.

An outstanding event in the history of Auckland and for the Church in New Zealand was the centennial celebrations in Auckland and Hokianga to commemorate the arrival of Bishop Pompallier and the celebration of his first mass at Totara Point in 1838.