Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



New Zealand Table Tennis Association

The New Zealand Table Tennis Association fosters and controls the game in New Zealand. It lays down uniform rules for the control and organisation of the game, encourages inter-association contests, organises the annual national championships, promotes visits by overseas players, and arranges overseas tours.

In 1964 the association comprised 28 affiliated regional associations including 698 clubs representing an estimated 13,998 players. The Canterbury association showed the largest membership with 264 teams taking part in winter interclub competitions and 91 teams in the summer interclub competition. Otago (198 teams), Wellington (193 teams), and Auckland (132 teams) are the next largest associations; while South Canterbury, Hamilton, Franklin, North Taranaki, and Hutt Valley each have more than 70 teams in regular competitions.