Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




The New Zealand Lawn Tennis Association, which is the national body controlling the sport in New Zealand, was formed at a meeting held in Hastings in December 1886. Shortly after its inauguration, the New Zealand Association became affiliated with the Lawn Tennis Association (England) but it did not seek affiliation with the International Lawn Tennis Federation until 1923. The New Zealand Lawn Tennis Association consists of district associations with clearly defined geographical boundaries. Within the districts are sub-associations and local tennis clubs. These district associations, which are affiliated to the national body, control their own activities subject to any requirements which may, from time to time, be legislated for by the national body. Since the inception of the Association the game of tennis has made great progress in New Zealand. In 1908 there were nine district associations affiliated with a total registered membership of 6,832. In 1965 there were 21 district associations with a registered membership of 39,637.


McLintock, Alexander Hare