Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



International Competition

In 1894 a New South Wales swimming team visited Auckland to compete in the first intercolonial championship carnival, and, four years later, the first official Australasian championship meeting was held at Christchurch. Since then competitions have taken place regularly between the two countries. In 1910 New Zealand was elected to membership of the Fédration International de Natation Amateur (founded 1908) and thus became eligible to compete in international fixtures, including the Olympic Games. Malcolm Champion represented New Zealand at the 1911 Festival of Empire Games, London, and, in the following year, competed at the Olympic Games at Stockholm. Violet Walrond competed at the 1920 Olympic Games at Antwerp, and Gwitha Shand and E. C. Heard represented New Zealand at Paris in 1924. Since then the New Zealand teams have competed at most Olympiads, so far, however, without significant success. New Zealand swimmers have competed at the various Empire Games and, at Auckland in 1950, the New Zealand team won the 4 × 220 yards free-style relay. In 1954 J. A. Doms won the gold medal in the 220 yards breast-stroke event. In 1958 T. Stavely won the silver medal for the 110 yards butterfly-stroke event, while P. Gould won the bronze medal for the 110 yards back-stroke event. At Perth, 1962, Vivienne Haddon won a silver medal in the 100 yards and a bronze medal in the 220 yards breast-stroke events, while F. A. Thomas won a bronze medal in the 220 yards men's back-stroke.