Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Department of Agriculture

Although constituting the Government's major unified contribution to science, the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research is by no means the only one. In particular, with so much of the country's economic welfare tied to farming, the Department of Agriculture maintains extensive scientific services. It was founded in 1893 and, as might have been expected, its chief function was initially the establishment of experimental farms and the giving of extension services to farmers. It did, however, include chemical, biological, and veterinary units which provided scientific services, and this aspect of the work assumed increasing importance as the Department grew. It now has research stations at Ruakura (animal research), Rukuhia (soil fertility), Wallaceville (animal research), Levin (horticulture), Te Kauwhata (viticulture), and Winchmore (irrigation), with a special centre at Taieri.