Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Present Constitution

As at present constituted, the Royal Society of New Zealand is a federation of 10 autonomous societies, nine of which are regional bodies promoting general science (Auckland Institute, and the Wellington, Canterbury, Otago, Waikato, Hawke's Bay, Rotorua, Nelson, and Southland branches of the Royal Society of New Zealand); the tenth member body is the Geological Society of New Zealand. The members of these societies are members of the Royal Society of New Zealand. Besides their 14 representatives, the Council comprises the Minister (ex officio), four Government representatives, two representatives of the Society's Fellows, a co-opted member, the honorary treasurer, the president and two vice-presidents (elected by Council), and the immediate past president. The Society employs a full-time secretary and a library assistant. Meetings of Council are held in May and November, and a standing committee of Wellington councillors meets monthly. The Society receives an annual grant from Government and other income from member bodies, sale of publications, and trust funds.

Next Part: Functions