Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




Results of Major Contests Held Between 1880 and 1890
Year Venue Winning Band Conductor
1880 Christchurch Invercargill Garrison W. E. Heywood
1881 Oamaru Invercargill Garrison W. E. Heywood
1882 Christchurch Timaru Artillery R. J. Bowles
1883 Invercargill Oamaru Garrison Geo. Jones
1884 Oamaru Oamaru Garrison Geo. Jones
1885 Wellington Oamaru Garrison Geo. Jones
1886 Oamaru Invercargill Garrison W. V. Siddall
1887 Oamaru Garrison Geo. Jones
1889 Christchurch Oamaru Garrison Geo. Jones
1890 Dunedin Oamaru Navals A. Frew