Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




As marching is a summer sport, the championships are usually contested in January and February culminating in the national contest in March. The various centres organise championship contests for their respective districts and these are followed by the North and South Island senior, junior, and midget championships. Later, the champion teams from the centres compete for the national trophies. At this contest the following trophies are awarded: Parry Cup (New Zealand champions); Bock Shield (display march); Hanan Shield (aggregate points trophy); Lustre Shield (best team leader); Stanton Medal (best team marker); and Richard Hudnut Trophy and Kiwi Rose Bowl (for winner and runner up in the costume competition). Following is the list of Parry Cup holders since 1948:

Parry Cup (New Zealand Champion Team)
1948 Canadian Guards (Auck.)
1949 McKenzies (Chch.)
1950 Brigadiers (Auck.)
1951 Grenadiers (Whangarei)
1952 Balmoral (Timaru)
1953 Grenadiers (Whangarei)
1954 Grenadiers (Whangarei)
1955 Scottish Hussars (Auck.)
1956 Scottish Hussars (Auck.)
1957 Scottish Hussars (Auck.)
1959 Vanguards (Inglewood)
1960 Scottish Hussars (Auck.)
1961 Waikato Mascots (Waik.)
1962 Waikato Mascots (Waik.)
1963 Brigadiers (Auck.)
1964 Brigadiers (Auck.)
1965 Canadian Guards (Auck.)
1958 Scottish Hussars (Auck.)