Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Formal Structure

The Maori alphabet is very restricted, consisting of 15 letters: h, k, m, n, p, r, t, w, a, e, i, o, u, wh, ng. These letters can be classified into:

  1. Eight consonants, h, k, m, n, p, r, t, w.

  2. Two digraphs, wh, and ng, which may be included with the consonants.

  3. Five vowels, a, e, i, o, u.

Next Part: Pronunciation