Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Erewhon Cup

Each year a national series is held for the Erewhon Cup. This zonal knockout competition is held in July, depending on the availability of suitable ice. At present only South Island clubs can participate but, with new indoor ice rinks at Wellington and Auckland, it is hoped that the competition will be extended.

The following teams have held the Erewhon Cup:

1937 Mount Harper (Timaru)
1938 Tekapo (Lake Tekapo)
1939–45 War years; not held
1946 Opawa (Albury)
1947 Tekapo (Lake Tekapo)
1948 Tekapo (Lake Tekapo)
1949 Tekapo (Lake Tekapo)
1950 Tekapo (Lake Tekapo)
1951 Opawa (Albury)
1952 Canterbury Rangers
1953 Canterbury Rangers
1954 Canterbury Rangers
1955 International (Christchurch)
1956 International (Christchurch)
1957 International (Christchurch)
1958 International (Christchurch)
1959 International (Christchurch)
1960 Tekapo (Lake Tekapo)
1961 International (Christchurch)
1962 International (Christchurch)
1963 International (Christchurch)
1964 Aces (Christchurch)