Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




The national council consists of the national executive together with one representative of each of the 20 district councils from among its conference delegates. It meets at least every six months and must be consulted by the national executive in matters of national importance. The national executive carries out the functions of the federation and is responsible for implementing the policies laid down by the annual conferences. It consists of the president, vice-president, secretary-treasurer, and four members who must be Wellington residents. The national council may establish district councils in any area where there are five or more affiliated organisations representing a minimum combined local membership of 5,000, or it may establish trades union committees where the combined membership of the affiliated unions is not less than 1,000. These district councils organise the workers within their respective territories and act as local agents in giving effect to decisions reached by the annual conference.

Next Part: Objectives