Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




The University of Otago's arms are: Azure, a saltire argent, the saltire cantoned with four stars also argent, and an escutcheon of pretence gules in the centre with a fifth star of the second.

The University of Canterbury has arms similar to those of Canterbury Province, which are: Argent, on a chevron gules three Foisons d'or (golden fleeces) between three ploughs proper, on a chief Azure, a Cross Calvary between two archi-episcopal palls of the first.

The arms of Victoria University of Wellington are: Vert on a fesse engrailed between three Crowns Or, a Canton Azure charged with four Estoilles Argent (in the form of the Southern Cross).

The arms of the University of Auckland are: Azure between three mullets argent an open Book proper edged and bound Or with seven Clasps on either side Gold on a chief wavy also argent three Kiwis proper.

Many New Zealand ecclesiastical organisations, schools, commercial enterprises, societies, and institutions have coats of arms, but it is beyond the scope of this article to list them all.

by John Sidney Gully, M.A., DIP.N.Z.L.S., Assistant Chief Librarian, General Assembly Library, Wellington.