Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Overseas Competitions

New Zealand is the only country which has twice won the International Seefab Cup Competition in the men's and women's classes. The men's cup has been won twice outright by W. J. Burton. In 1953 Miss M. Wright—a former New Zealand Ladies' Champion—won the Empire Games postal shoot and became British Empire Champion.

Men Location Women
1944 W. J. Burton Postal Miss R. Mitchell
1945-46 W. J. Burton Postal Miss P. Bryan
1946-47 W. J. Burton Postal Miss P. Bryan
1948 H. Butel Dunedin Miss D. Johnstone
1949 W. J. Burton Auckland Miss D. Johnstone
1950 G. F. Gregory Wellington Miss M. Wright
1951 J. W. Hinchco Christchurch Miss P. Anglem
1952 W. J. Burton Gisborne Mrs J. Aspin
1953 J. W. Hinchco Auckland Mrs J. Aspin
1954 J. W. Hinchco Wellington Mrs J. Aspin
1955 R. L. Holdaway Christchurch Mrs J. Leyman
1956 W. J. Burton Gisborne Mrs C. Weir
1957 W. J. Burton Levin Mrs C. Weir
1958 W. J. Burton New Plymouth Mrs J. Burgess
1959 W. J. Burton Auckland Mrs J. Burgess
1960 W. J. Burton Gisborne Mrs S. Hawkins
1961 J. Bruning Christchurch Mrs J. Spiers
1962 J. W. Hinchco Wellington Mrs D. Browne
1963 J. P. Bruning New Plymouth Mrs D. Browne
1964 J. P. Bruning Auckland Miss L. Lamberg
1965 W. Thompson Gisborne Miss L. Lamberg