Kōrero: Colonial and provincial government

The rūnanga system, 1861

The rūnanga system, 1861

The rūnanga system, devised by Governor George Grey, was an attempt to give Māori a form of local government comparable to the provinces. Paid resident magistrates and assessors (Māori magistrates) would be overseen by European commissioners. The model shown here was based on a report on the structure proposed for the Bay of Islands – it varied elsewhere, although everywhere it fell victim to the renewal of conflict between the Crown and Māori in 1863.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Lindsay Cox, Kotahitanga: The search for Maori political unity. Auckland: Oxford University Press, 1993

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Colonial and provincial government - Colony and provinces, 1853 to 1863', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/diagram/35481/the-runanga-system-1861 (accessed 4 March 2024)

He kōrero nā Malcolm McKinnon, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 6 Oct 2023