Story: Lighthouses

1947 Government Life Insurance stamp issue

1947 Government Life Insurance stamp issue

The Government Life Insurance Department was the only New Zealand government department allowed to issue its own stamps. The tradition began in 1891, and the lighthouse was used as a symbol of security, indicating the widespread public confidence in the national system of lighthouses by that time. In 1947 new stamps were issued, designed by James Berry. They featured lighthouses around the New Zealand coast – Castle Point, Taiaroa Head, Cape Palliser, Stephens Island, The Brothers and Cape Brett. The threepenny stamp featured Eddystone lighthouse on the Cornish coast, as a tribute to the British heritage.

Using this item

New Zealand Post
Reference: 1990 Heritage - the Achievers stamp issue

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Helen Beaglehole, 'Lighthouses - A national system', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 2 October 2022)

Story by Helen Beaglehole, published 12 Jun 2006