Story: Electoral systems

Wellington’s mayor installed in office

Wellington’s mayor installed in office

Celia Wade-Brown (left), wearing the official cloak and chain of the mayor of Wellington, is given a bouquet of flowers by Kerry Prendergast, who Wade-Brown had narrowly unseated in the 2010 mayoral race. The mayor of Wellington is elected using the preferential voting system – which is officially known as STV (single transferable vote), because preferential voting is simply single transferable voting in a single-member district. In the 2010 mayoral election the incumbent, Prendergast, won more first preference votes than Wade-Brown. However, Prendergast did not have a majority of first-preference votes (she had 40.9%) and as a result the preferences of the lowest polling candidates were successively redistributed. On the fifth and final count, Wade-Brown received 50.2% of the valid votes cast and was elected.

Using this item

Dominion Post

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Nigel S. Roberts, 'Electoral systems - Local-authority electoral systems', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 13 June 2024)

Story by Nigel S. Roberts, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Feb 2015