Story: Asian conflicts

The two Vietnams

The two Vietnams

From 1954 to 1975 Vietnam was divided into two countries, North Vietnam (the Democratic Republic of Vietnam) and South Vietnam (the Republic of Vietnam). After its defeat at Bien Dien Phu, France signed an independence agreement with the victorious Viet Minh in Geneva. Vietnam would be divided by a demilitarised zone (the DMZ), with the French withdrawing their forces from Vietnam north of the zone and the Viet Minh withdrawing their forces from the south. An associated declaration stated that after the troop withdrawals an election would be held for the reunification of the country. This provision was never agreed to by the South Vietnamese or the United States, and the reunification election was not held. South Vietnam had been effectively independent since May 1954, and Ngo Dinh Diem declared it a republic after he became president through a questionable election in 1955. South Vietnam was heavily backed by the US, which saw it as a bulwark against communism. Before long Diem's authoritarian regime was challenged by local communists, backed by the regime in North Vietnam.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

Source: Ian McGibbon, New Zealand's Vietnam War: a history of combat, commitment and controversy. Auckland: Exisle, 2010, p. 21

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ian McGibbon, 'Asian conflicts - Vietnam War', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 6 March 2024)

Story by Ian McGibbon, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Feb 2016