Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




The first polo tournament in New Zealand was held at Auckland in 1890, only 19 years after the game had been introduced to England. Auckland played Christchurch; Christchurch won. At the same tournament Christchurch beat a visiting Royal Navy team, thereby winning a trophy presented by Captain Savile, who was Aide-de-camp to the Governor-General. The success of this tournament led the clubs to form a national organisation, the New Zealand Polo Association, which was set up in 1891 with six member clubs. Today the association comprises 15 clubs: Auckland, Cambridge, Christchurch, Feilding, Hawke's Bay, Kihikihi, Morrinsville, Poverty Bay, Rangitikei, Taupiri, Tukituki, Waimai, Wairarapa, Wanstead, and Whareama.

New Zealand's polo season lasts from December till the end of March. In the latter month the Savile Cup, Junior Cup, and Handicap Cup tournaments are held.

Savile Cup Winners
1890 Christchurch 1925 Christchurch
1891 Christchurch 1926 Hawke's Bay
1892 Christchurch 1927 Hawke's Bay
1893 Christchurch 1928 Christchurch
1894 Rangitikei 1929 Christchurch
1895 Manawatu 1930 Hawke's Bay
1896 Manawatu 1935 Matangi
1897 Manawatu 1936 Cambridge
1898 Oroua 1937 Cambridge
1899 Oroua 1938 Cambridge
1900 Oroua 1939 Hawke's Bay
1901 Rangitikei 1947 Morrinsville
1902 Manawatu 1948 not played
1903 Manawatu 1949 Morrinsville
1904 Manawatu 1950 Morrinsville
1905 Manawatu 1951 Morrinsville
1906 Rangitikei 1952 Kihikihi
1907 Hawke's Bay 1953 Morrinsville
1908 Hawke's Bay 1954 Kihikihi
1909 Hawke's Bay 1955 Taupiri
1910 Hawke's Bay 1956 Kihikihi
1911 Hawke's Bay 1957 Hawke's Bay
1912 Hawke's Bay 1958 Kihikihi
1913 Mangaheia 1959 Kihikihi
1914 Poverty Bay 1960 Morrinsville
1920 Hawke's Bay 1961 Kihikihi
1921 Hawke's Bay 1962 Kihikihi
1922 not played 1963 Taupiri
1923 Hawke's Bay 1964 Hawke's Bay
1924 Hawke's Bay 1965 Cambridge


McLintock, Alexander Hare