Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




The northernmost region of New Zealand projects out as a long peninsula some 200 miles in length (from the Waitemata Harbour) and not much more than 50 miles at its widest point. The region is usually referred to as North Auckland, but the use of the shortened Northland is gaining a wider currency. Altogether there are eight counties which, with their interior boroughs and cities, form the basic units for the collection of statistics: Mangonui, Whangaroa, Hokianga, Bay of Islands, Hobson, Whangarei, Otamatea, Rodney. Waitemata County is treated elsewhere as part of the Auckland region because it has been effectively incorporated by the rapidly expanding urban area. Whangarei (urban area population 1961, 21,790) is the largest town of North Auckland. In 1961 the region registered a total population of 94,152 (3·89 per cent of the national total) 23·62 per cent of which were classified as Maoris. In November 1964 Whangarei was proclaimed a city.


by Samuel Harvey Franklin, B.COM.GEOG., M.A.(BIRMINGHAM), Senior Lecturer, Geography Department, Victoria University of Wellington.