Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.



Championship Roll

1879 H. Hookham
1888–89 A. M. Ollivier
1889–90 H. Hookham
1890–91 R. J. Barnes
1891–92 F. V. Siedeberg
1892–93 F. V. Siedeberg
1893–94 J. Edwards
1894–95 W. Mackay
1895–96 W. Meldrum
1896–97 R. J. Barnes
1897–98 R. J. Barnes
1898–99 R. A. Cleland
1900 W. E. Mason
1901 D. Forsyth
1901–02 R. J. Barnes
1902–03 J. C. Grierson
1903–04 W. E. Mason
1904–05 A. W. O. Davies
1905–06 R. J. Barnes
1906–07 W. S. Viner
1908 A. W. O. Davies
1908–09 F. K. Kelling
1909–10 J. Mason
1910–11 W. E. Mason
1911–12 W. E. Mason
1912–13 J. C. Grierson
1913–14 W. E. Mason
1914–15 F. K. Kelling
1919–20 W. E. Mason
1920–21 J. B. Dunlop
1921–22 J. B. Dunlop
1922–23 J. B. Dunlop
1923–24 S. Crakanthorp
1924–25 C. J. S. Purdy
1925–26 S. Crakanthorp
1926–27 A. W. O. Davies
1927–28 A. W. O. Davies
1928–29 J. A. Erskine
1929–30 G. Gundersen
1930–31 A. W. Gyles
1931–32 G. Gundersen
1932–33 M. E. Goldstein
1933–34 J. B. Dunlop
1934–35 J. A. Erskine
1935–36 A. W. Gyles
1936–37 H. R. Abbott
1937–38 S. Hindin
1938–36 J. B. Dunlop
1939–40 J. B. Dunlop
1940–41 P. Allerhand
1943–44 R. G. Wade
1944–45 R. G. Wade
1945–46 T. Lepviikmann
1946–47 T. Lepviikmann
1947–48 R. G. Wade
1948–49 A. E. Nield
1949–50 P. Allerhand
1950–51 D. I. Lynch
1951–52 O. Sarapu
1952–53 O. Sarapu
1953–54 O. Sarapu
1954–55 O. Sarapu
1955–56 F. A. Foulds
1956–57 J. R. Phillips
A. Feneridis
1957–58 J. R. Phillips
1958–59 F. A. Foulds
B. C. Menzies
1959–60 O. Sarapu
1960–61 O. Sarapu
1961–62 G. G. Haase
1962–63 O. Sarapu
R. J. Sutton
1963–64 R. A. Court
1964–65 J. R. Phillips

Thomas Bracken, the poet, started the first chess column in New Zealand in the Southern Weekly Mercury in 1875, but the person who probably did most for chess was the late F. K. Kelling, who voluntarily undertook the task of being the game's publicist, a function he carried out for over 60 years. He was practically the founder of the New Zealand Chess Association. In 1883 Auckland staged an exhibition of “living chess”, but a more practical step was taken in 1947 by the late F. G. McSherry, a publisher and chess enthusiast, who for seven years at considerable personal loss published the New Zealand Chess Player. Chess periodicals, in general, have had short lives in New Zealand, but in 1962 Z. Frankel, making use of a modern method of reproduction, founded the New Zealand Chess Magazine.

by Conrad Brice Newick, M.A., DIP.N.Z.L.S., Assistant Reference Officer, General Assembly Library, Wellington.