Kōrero: Awards and prizes

Children's book award winners, 1982–2017

This table gives the winners of the award for the best New Zealand children's book, from the first such award in 1982 until 2017. In some cases a book's illustrator has shared the award with the author. Since it was instituted, this award has had a succession of sponsors, and has been renamed accordingly. 

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

Sources: Roger Robinson and Nelson Wattie (eds), The Oxford companion to New Zealand Literature. Auckland: Oxford University Press 1998; Booksellers New Zealand and Christchurch City Libraries

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Mark Derby, 'Awards and prizes - Literary awards, 1950s onwards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/44677/childrens-book-award-winners-1982-2017 (accessed 17 May 2022)

He kōrero nā Mark Derby, i tāngia i te 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Apr 2020