Story: Treaty of Waitangi

Treaty of Waitangi sheets: Cook Strait (7th of 8)

Missionary Henry Williams carried this treaty sheet on board the schooner Ariel to Port Nicholson (later named Wellington), where he collected 34 signatures. He added 40 more at Queen Charlotte Sound and Rangitoto ki te Tonga (D'Urville Island). The powerful chief Te Rauparaha signed at his island of Kāpiti, and others signed at Waikanae, Ōtaki, Manawatū, Whanganui and Motungārara (a small island off the tip of Kāpiti Island). A total of 132 chiefs signed this treaty sheet.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Treaty of Waitangi - Interpretations of the Treaty of Waitangi', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 June 2021)

Story by Claudia Orange, published 20 Jun 2012