Story: Treaty of Waitangi

Treaty of Waitangi sheets: Waitangi, 6 February 1840 (1st of 8)

Zoom in to read details of the original version of the Treaty of Waitangi, signed by 43 chiefs at Waitangi, in the Bay of Islands, on 6 February 1840. The missionary William Colenso noted that 'not many chiefs of first rank' signed at Waitangi. However, lieutenant governor William Hobson regarded this original signing as the 'de facto' treaty. Later signings were simply seen as confirming it. This treaty sheet was later signed at eight other locations and eventually more than 213 signatures were collected on it.

(Quoted in Claudia Orange, The Treaty of Waitangi. Wellington: Allen and Unwin, 1987, p. 56)

About this item

Archives New Zealand - Te Rua Mahara o te Kāwanatanga
Reference: IA 9/9

Permission of Archives New Zealand Te Rua Mahara o te Kāwanatanga must be obtained before any re-use of this material.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Treaty of Waitangi - Interpretations of the Treaty of Waitangi', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 24 June 2017)

Story by Claudia Orange, published 20 Jun 2012