Story: Awards and prizes

New Zealand book award prize winners, 1968–2020

New Zealand's leading literary awards have changed their name and format several times since the first ceremony in 1968. This list gives all the major winners of these awards, which were not held in 2015.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mark Derby, 'Awards and prizes - Literary awards, 1950s onwards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 15 August 2022)

Story by Mark Derby, published 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Apr 2020