Story: Publishing

Major book award winners, 1968–2020

This table provides the major book award winners in New Zealand from 1968. In that year the Wattie Book Awards (later to become the Goodman Fielder Wattie Book Awards) began. They simply gave first, second and third prizes across all types of writing. From 1976, alongside these awards, the New Zealand Book Awards were developed, which provided prizes for different classes: fiction, non-fiction, poetry and sometimes book production. In 1994 and 1995 Montana took over as the sponsor of the Goodman Fielder Wattie awards. Then in 1996 the two awards came together as the Montana New Zealand Book Awards. There were a range of categories and from 1997 to 2009 there were two supreme awards, the Deutz medal for fiction and the Montana medal for non-fiction. Between 2010 and 2014 New Zealand Post became the named sponsor. A number of separate categories remained, but there was one New Zealand Post Book of the Year. A new sponsor, property developer Ockham, was announced in 2015 with 2016 the first year of the newly-named Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source Booksellers New Zealand

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Elizabeth Caffin, 'Publishing - Big and small, home and away, 1965 to 1980', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 5 August 2021)

Story by Elizabeth Caffin, published 22 Oct 2014