Story: Ngāti Kahungunu

Ngāti Kahungunu tribal area

Ngāti Kahungunu tribal area

This map shows the three main Ngāti Kahungunu areas within the tribal boundaries. The three divisions are Ngāti Kahungunu ki Te Wairoa, Ngāti Kahungunu ki Heretaunga and Ngāti Kahungunu ki Te Wairarapa. The many lakes and rivers, and harbours such as Hawke Bay (Te Matau-a-Māui) were important as highways and a source of food.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mere Whaanga, 'Ngāti Kahungunu - Tribes and lands', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 20 June 2024)

Story by Mere Whaanga, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Mar 2017